2021 SIPST Winners Otago Country celebrate their win

After a week long tournament held across North Canterbury the CJCA teams finished the Tournament with a loss in the final of Sir Jack Newman Trophy match against Otago Country and a win in the playoff for 5th versus one of the two Canterbury Country teams to retain the Derek Cockburn Trophy for the 3rd successive year.

A dejected but tight CJCA Black after their loss in the SIPST Final to Otago Country

CJCA Black restricted Otago Country to 184-8 bowling them out in the 37th over when it looked likely they would threaten 200.  The CJCA chase didn’t start well being 3 down for 19 before a partnership between Flynn Holdem and Louise Garry saw them nearing 100 after just 15 overs – 2 quick wickets saw the lower order under immense pressure and the Southerners held their catches and quickly took the last 3 wickets with the Christchurch side well short of their target.

CJCA Red with the Derek Cockburn Trophy for 5th at the 58th South Island Primary Schools Tournament

In the other game at Mandeville CJCA Red took on Canterbury Country White and much like the other game Canterbury Country scored 187 in their 40 overs to set Red a challenging target.  CJCA Red had solid contributions from their middle order and were always ahead of the runrate and though all 9 batters were needed to get to the win the team did so 5 down with George Mehrtens and Alf Markham at the wicket when the win was acheived and retirees Luke Mitchell and Jack O’Rourke still in the shed.

The CJCA thanks Canterbury Country for hosting not only the SIPST event in North Canterbury but also the New Festival grade which saw 30 instead of 14 teams have a week of great cricket – we also thank all our players, coaches, scorers, managers and families for giving their best endevours and supporting their Boys during the week and wish the majority of boys the best as they move into Youth Cricket with this new Secondary Schools or Youth clubs.